check if someone else is using your Netflix account

According to the latest data shared by AGCOM, Netflix is the most popular streaming platform in Italy thanks to its 9.2 million registered users in 2022. Netflix’s entertainment offer has always been very varied and also boasts highly successful titles such as “Paper House”, “Narcos” or “Stranger Things”. In recent years, however, the streaming platform has increased its price several times and has often communicated its intention to take measures for those who decide to share the same account among multiple users. Sometimes, however, a stranger may use i improperly our Netflix account watching streaming content at our expense. If you’re concerned about someone else accessing your Netflix account without permission, we’re here to help. This tutorial will show you how to check who is using your Netflix account and what to do if you find that a stranger is taking advantage of your subscription.

How to check if someone else is using your Netflix account

Table of Contents

Advertisement:

First things first: How do you know whether or not someone is using your Netflix account without permission? Based on your subscription, you can watch Netflix on only one device at a time in the Basic plan, on two devices in the Standard plan, and on four devices simultaneously in the Premium plan. If you’re trying to watch your favorite show on Netflix but you get a warning from the platform that there are too many connected devices than your subscription allows, then someone else is using your account.

There are other signs too, though, that you can observe. If you see “Continue watching…” for shows you’ve never seen, or see the message “No more streams available,” it might be time to double-check. For example, titles you don’t recognize in the Continue Watching section may be seen by someone else who has access to your account.

Another suspicious activity is new profiles: if you see a new profile that you didn’t create on your account, someone else created it. Finally, you may have trouble accessing your account. Sometimes, hackers who want to use your Netflix subscription gain access to your account and then change your login information to exclude you from your subscription. Fortunately, you no longer need to investigate whether someone else is using your Netflix account, as there are a few ways to ensure your account is secure and free from intruders.

Must Read:

Check the registered devices

Netflix can be watched on smart TVs, Playstation, Xbox, Chromecast, Apple TV, Blu-ray players, and Android and iOS devices. The platform can show you not only the types of devices connected to your account but also the locations from which they are connected. Log in to Netflix via browser and select your account icon at the top right and then follow these steps:

  • Select your profile icon and click Account
  • Select Recent device streaming activity
  • Scan all connected devices
  • Unplug any devices you don’t recognize

Check your viewing history

If you are not sure whether a device is yours or not, you can also check your Netflix viewing history. Via browser from the account screen, follow these instructions:

  • Click the down arrow next to your profiles and then click View next to Activity View.
  • In this section, you can see which devices have recently connected, including web browsers, smart TVs, and phone apps. From the details, you can also see the device’s IP address, location, time, and date when the unknown device accessed your Netflix account.
  • Review this list to see if there are any items you don’t recognize. If there’s a device or link here that you don’t recognize, someone else could be using your Netflix account. For example, if you live in Milan and you see someone accessing your account from the United States, your account has likely been compromised.
  • In this case, immediately ban unknown devices from your account and change your credentials.

Netflix usually advises that it can take up to eight hours to delete devices from your account, but the service usually works much faster.

delete devices

Securing your Netflix account

Once you determine that someone else is using your Netflix account, you need to take action to keep your account safe after you remove it.

Securing your Netflix account is an essential and very easy thing to do as it takes less than a minute. With a little speed, we recommend a trick that will allow you to safeguard your account. Log into your Netflix account from a browser and then open two tabs: on the one you can change your password, while on the other you can disconnect all unknown devices.

Doing things this way prevents someone who is using your account at the time from logging in again before the password change is successful. It’s a small trick, but it can make a big difference. So here’s how to do it:

  • Sign in to Netflix using your desktop browser
  • Select Accounts
  • Scroll to Subscription & Billing
  • Select Change password
  • Enter your current and new passwords, but don’t click Save yet.
  • Under the new password box, check the option “Require all devices to sign in again with the new password”.
  • Save the password change.

In the other tab that you have opened, disconnect all devices connected to your account.

Securing your Netflix account

Going through all this may seem overwhelming, but if someone were using your Netflix account at the time they would be kicked out and would have to enter their password again. If you do this quickly, any intruder will be logged out and unable to access your account. After following these steps, your account should be secure. Periodically, however, remember to check the activities to make sure that no one else is using them without permission.

Netflix account security

Netflix has not yet implemented two-factor authentication (2FA) even though it has come under heavy pressure from users who would like security to be implemented. In the meantime, it’s up to us to develop strong, hard-to-find passwords that must always contain letters, numbers, and symbols. The more complicated your password, the more secure it will be. One thing Netflix has been busy with lately, however, is actively monitoring “cracked” accounts and Netflix accounts being offered for sale on some pirate sites.

Frequent questions

Does Netflix notify me if someone logs into my account?

In principle yes. This depends on the settings you have activated but Netflix gives you the possibility to receive an email notification when a new login occurs. This is why it is important to have up-to-date contact information.

Does Netflix notify me when someone else is using my account?

No, Netflix doesn’t warn you if someone else is using your account. The only way to find out is if the devices that can be connected at the same time exceed the allowed quota. Depending on the signed-up plan, you can only watch Netflix on 1, 2, or 4 devices at the same time. If you connect more devices than allowed Netflix will tell you that you need to free up a stream to continue watching. Outside of that, the only way to know if someone else is logged in is to check what connections they have made and what devices have connected.

What can I do to prevent someone from logging in?

In addition to setting a strong password and checking connected devices often, users can report any improper activity using Netflix’s Contact Us page. Netflix support team will reply with an email to help you further. When contacting Netflix, be sure to include screenshots of the incident, and be prepared to have all of your account information at hand.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here