Want to easily review or revoke access granted to people or apps on your iPhone? Then, with iOS 16, test out the new Safety Check privacy function.

Apple’s ongoing work on privacy has resulted in a very handy privacy feature for the iPhone. I’m referring to the iOS 16 Safety Check feature. The Personal Safety User Guide feature, which was released in late 2020 and upgraded earlier this year, receives a significant upgrade with Safety Check. The feature allows users to swiftly cancel location and password access from those who have been allowed access.

The next iOS 16 is a feature-packed upgrade that goes beyond the new lock screen and wallpaper changes. And the new security option added to the Privacy Settings is the Safety Check. The new function will be enabled on the iPhone with the general release of iOS 16 next month.

How does Safety Check work?

Safety Check protects your physical security by resetting access to persons and applications immediately. Previously, users had to open each app’s settings and then revoke access, but the new privacy tool provides a quick and easy way to do so.

“If conditions or trust levels change, Safety Check lets you to remove from people, apps, and devices you no longer wish to be connected to,” Apple says of the new feature.

This tool comes in handy in violent situations; we hope you never find yourself in such a position, but just in case you’re wondering about Safety Check.

I’ve covered all you need to know about using Safety Check on your iPhone in this guide. Let’s go into the details.

Safety Check on iOS 16 is equipped with two useful security features – Emergency Reset and Manage Sharing & Access.

how to use satefy check on iphon e1661220298715
Advertisements
First, let’s go through what Emergency Reset is and how to use it.

What is the Emergency Reset feature and how can I use it?

As the title indicates, you can use the Emergency Reset if you are in an emergency. It will immediately change your Apple ID password and reset access for all people and apps.

Before proceeding, ensure that your iPhone is running iOS 16. You can join Apple’s beta program or wait for the public release. This is how you use Emergency Reset.

Step 1: Open the Settings app on your iPhone.

Step 2: Swipe down and then tap on Privacy & Security.

how to use satefy check on iphon 1

Step 3: On the next screen, scroll down and choose safety Check.

how to use satefy check on iphon 2 e1661220686911

Step 4: You can tap on the Emergency Reset option, to move forward, the passcode or Face ID / Touch ID is needed.

Step 5: Now tap Start Emergency Reset.

how to use satefy check on iphon 3 e1661220793359

Step 6: The first option allows you to Reset People & Apps access, the process will take a few seconds.

how to use satefy check on iphon 4 e1661220855835

Step 7: Tap the Reset option from the pop-up.

how to use satefy check on iphon 5 e1661220907912

Step 8: Select the Device you want to remove access from.

how to use satefy check on iphon 6 e1661220972882

Step 9: Once chosen, tap on Remove Selected Devices.

Step 10: Tap on the red minus icon to remove the phone number from trusted contacts, or you can add a number if you like by tapping Add a trusted phone number button.

how to use satefy check on iphon 7 e1661221092715

Step 11: On the next screen, you’ll get a choice to update your Apple ID password, tap on the Update Password option to do it.

Step 12: Once done, you get the option to add or remove contacts from Emergency SOS.

That’s it.

How to Manage Sharing and Access in iOS 16 Safety Check

If you wish to block access to specific persons or apps, you can do so easily in iOS 16’s Manage Sharing & Access option. Here’s how to do it on your iPhone.

Step 1: Open the Safety Check privacy tool on your iPhone.

Step 2: Tap on Manage Sharing & Access option, it will require Face ID / Touch ID or passcode access.

Step 3: Select the Continue button on the next screen.
On the next screen, you can see the shared access with People,

Step 4: Select the Information tab to check any information shared in Find My, Health, Photos, and other apps.

Step 5: Tap Continue after reviewing the sharing access, you can select Review More People if missed something.

Step 6: Now select or remove access from the apps you want.

Finally, you can select the devices from which you want to remove access.

Step 8: After revoking the device access, you can add or remove contacts from trusted contacts.

You can update your Apple ID password if needed, then change details in Emergency SOS.
That’s it.

These easy steps in the Safety Check privacy feature will assist you in resetting access in Use your iPhone to locate my network.

If you have any questions about using Safety Check, please leave a comment in the box below.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here